Stuff For Sale, And a Sneak Peek at an Old Sheaffer

I’ve got a couple of notebook items I need to get rid of (including an elusive Seven Seas notebook!) so I’ve created a new page for them here: items for sale.

To keep this post pen-related, here’s a sneak peek of what I’ve been working on lately:

This is a Sheaffer Balance Sovereign c. 1938-1942. It’s one of six old Sheaffers I picked up this weekend. Unfortunately, the square-ish plastic bit near the top of the photo is broken off from the feed. 😦 And one of the tines on the nib was broken, so I ground it down into an italic. I plan on turning this pen into an eyedropper until I can find a suitable donor pen to refurbish the vacuum-filler with.

3 thoughts on “Stuff For Sale, And a Sneak Peek at an Old Sheaffer

  1. chantgirl March 21, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    My gosh, how did I not know until recently that you were such a fountain pen nerd?!! You out-nerd me for sure! You ground your own nib?!!! Color me impressed!

    Like

    • economicalpenster March 21, 2017 / 9:31 pm

      Please don’t be too impressed! I’m a rank, rank amateur when it comes to nib grinding. (This grind was actually an experiment to see if I could salvage the nib because one had a broken tine.) That being said, I put the pen back together for a test run and it writes rather nicely. Though, I really need to try a nib ground to an italic by a professional to see how bad mine is in comparison. lol

      Liked by 2 people

  2. chantgirl March 21, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    There is always that $9 Pilot Plumix Italian 1.0 stub nib from Goulet–that will interchange onto a Pilot Metro. πŸ™‚ Although, I guess it’s not a true italic–not with the really sharp edge. Or so I seem to remember that is the differentiation between a stub nib and an italic… Too tired/lazy to look it up right now. πŸ™‚ I’m still super impressed that you even tried to ground a nib! So there! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

